I’m Just So Thankful, We’re Not Going To Get Mitt

Thanksgiving is the holiday,
Of turkey overdoses,
Of football marathons,
And family psychosis.
But when we pause around the table,
To reflect for a bit,
I’m gonna say “I’m thankful,
We’re not gonna to get Mitt.”

My uncle thanked the good Lord,
That he’s not in Iraq.”
His 5 year-old added,
“And he’s not going back.”
Though I’m sorry that my uncle,
Lost his arm in Tikrit.
I’m gonna say “I’m thankful,
We’re not gonna get Mitt.”

Brother Jack, in from Seattle,
Announced he is delighted,
To be marrying his partner,
And of course we’re all invited.
Though I’m happy that my brother,
Can now legally commit.
I’m gonna say “I’m thankful
We’re not gonna get Mitt.”

The cousins from New Jersey,
Lost their house at the shore.
Yet they say they’re very thankful,
It was not so much more.
I could tell them I am sad,
It was their town Sandy hit.
But I’m gonna say “I’m thankful,
We’re not gonna get Mitt.”

So now at last it’s my turn,
My dad looks at me,
“Tell us what you’re thankful for,
Just what might that be?”
I raise my glass on high and say,
“Let’s never forget,
We should all be very thankful,
We’re not gonna get Mitt.”

And my family raised their glasses.
We drank a toast to peace.
We drank to gay equality.
And climate change belief.
The thing we were most grateful for?
We all knew this was it:
We were very very thankful,
We’re not gonna get Mitt.

Image courtesy of  freedigitalphotos.net
This entry was posted in humor, News, Politics, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

